Modi’s third term is sworn in on Sunday

Last Updated on June 7, 2024 10:04 am

BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) chief Narendra Modi took oath as the Prime Minister of India for the third time on June 9. Earlier it was reported that he will take oath on Saturday, but the latest news on Thursday revealed that he will take oath on Sunday evening. News from Hindustan Times, Zee News, NDTV, Anandabazar newspaper.

Modi resigned as Prime Minister on Wednesday after the results of the Lok Sabha polls were announced on Tuesday after 44 days of seven-phase polling across the country. When the President handed over the resignation letter to Draupadi Murmu, she accepted it. Along with this, the President requested Modi to perform the duties of the Prime Minister till the formation of the new government.

Earlier it was reported that Telugu Desam Party (TDP) chief Chandrababu Naidu may take oath as the Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh on Sunday. Earlier, Narendra Modi was supposed to take oath on Saturday. However, related sources said on Thursday that Modi will take oath as Prime Minister on Sunday. Under the changed circumstances, Chandrababu can take oath on June 12.

According to BJP sources, Prime Minister of Bangladesh Sheikh Hasina, President of Sri Lanka Ranil Wickremesinghe, Prime Minister of Nepal Pushpakmal Dahal and King Jigme Khesar Namgyal Wangchuck of Bhutan will be present at Modi’s swearing-in ceremony.

Narendra Modi spoke to both Sheikh Hasina and Wickramasinghe over the phone on Wednesday. They told Modi that they will be present at the swearing-in ceremony. Sheikh Hasina congratulated Modi for the NDA’s huge victory. And he said that he will be present there. On the other hand, the Prime Ministers of Bhutan, Nepal and Maldives have also been invited. Pakistan’s top leadership can also be invited to the swearing-in ceremony. Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina is scheduled to visit India next month. In this situation, the presence of the Prime Minister of Bangladesh in the swearing-in ceremony this month is considered quite significant.

The NDA won 292 seats in the 543-seat Lok Sabha election results released on Tuesday. Opposition alliance ‘India’ got 233 seats. Other parties got 18 seats. It is significant here that even though the NDA got the majority, the BJP did not get a single majority like in 2014 and 2019. Because, 273 seats are required for majority in Lok Sabha of 545 seats (including two nominated seats). BJP alone won 240 seats. 19 ministers of the previous government were defeated in this Lok Sabha election. Among them, 4 people including Smriti Irani are of cabinet rank. BJP has no option but to rely on allies to sustain the government. In this situation, parties like TDP and JDU are taking the demand for ministerial posts. To save the government, BJP has to compromise by accepting most of their demands.

For this purpose, leaders including Modi, Amit Shah sat in a meeting with NDA partners in Delhi on Wednesday. Modi has to form the government with the trust of NDA partners. In this situation, there is a risk of changing the equation if one of the partners bends. That is why Modi does not want to take much time to form the government. It is said that the date of swearing-in has been decided at the meeting at the Prime Minister’s residence at 11:30 on Wednesday. But it was revealed on Thursday.

Narendra Modi under pressure from Nitish-Naidu: The two most important partners of NDA – Nitish Kumar and Chandrababu Naidu – made a set of demands to Narendra Modi in exchange for support to the government in Delhi meeting.

Both Nitish Kumar and Naidu have demanded special state status for their states Andhra Pradesh and Bihar, NDTV reported. The central government can grant this status if it wants. So far 11 states in India have been given special status. However, the 14th Finance Commission has proposed to end the special status. Instead, they said, the amount of money due to those states should be increased by 10 percent. Nitish has been claiming this special status since 2006 and Naidu since the partition of Andhra Pradesh. In case of special state status, central government gives 90% of the money for central projects. Besides, the state gets various financial and infrastructural benefits.

52 percent of people in Bihar are poor. Bihar is one of the poorest states in the country. So Nitish wants special state status. And after the partition of Andhra, the main industrial area went to Telangana. Financial burden on Andhra increased; But the revenue is down. So they also want special status. If these two states are to be given this status, the central government will be burdened with an additional burden of around 10,000 crore rupees annually.

Besides special status for the state, Nitish has lobbied for four full ministerial and one state ministerial posts for his party and Chandrababu for three full ministerial and two state ministerial posts. Chandrababu is also seeking the post of Speaker.

Before the polls, it was said in the BJP’s agreement with Nitish that if the NDA comes to power, Nitish will be given three full minister posts. But understanding the situation, Nitish has now asked the BJP for four full minister posts. It is said that Nitish has his eyes on the ministries related to infrastructure. These include ministries like Railways, Rural Development, Water Resources.

On the other hand, Chandrababu Naidu has claimed three full minister and two state minister posts. Like Nitish, he wants to see his own MPs in the Ministry of Water Resources, Rural Development. The Ministry of Road Transport is also on the list.

Among the smaller parties, Chirag Paswan won 5 seats in Bihar. They demand a full and a state minister post. Jitanram Majhir Ham got one seat in that state. They also demand a full minister post. Eknath Shinder’s Shiv Sena won seven seats in Maharashtra. They also demanded a full and a state minister. Jayant Chowdhury of Uttar Pradesh’s RLD party, Anupriya Patel of APA party, HD Kumaraswamy of JDS are also looking forward to get the ministry.

Earlier, BJP was not seen to give importance to these small parties because Modi government had majority. In view of the situation, the BJP leadership feels that there is no other way but to accept the demands of the small parties. The government fears losing its majority if the demand is not met.

“India” on the road to form the government, not now, but waiting for time: “India” coalition partners also met in Delhi on Wednesday evening after the election results were announced. After the meeting, Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge said that India Block congratulates the people of India. People’s Janadesh gave a befitting reply to BJP. People voted to protect India’s constitution, curb inflation, unemployment and capitalism.

The India Alliance will continue to fight against the fascist government led by Modi to save democracy. Congress leader Sonia Gandhi also agreed with this statement of the India Alliance. According to India, the Modi brand is virtually over. But India alliance is unwilling to walk on the road of government formation now. This is what has come up in the discussion of the alliance. India Block will now wait for the right opportunity at the right time. However, their fight against the fascist BJP will continue.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *