Heavyweights left out of Modi’s cabinet

Last Updated on June 10, 2024 9:54 am

Narendra Modi took oath as the Prime Minister of India for the third time in a row on Sunday. Later in the evening, President of India Draupadi Murmu administered the oath to 72 Ministers, Ministers of State and Independent Ministers of State along with Prime Minister Narendra Modi in a grand ceremony at the premises of Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi. In the new cabinet, some of the discussed ministers and state ministers have been dropped.

Some of the prominent ministers and state ministers who were dropped lost in this year’s Lok Sabha elections, some won. Some of the Ministers and Ministers of State dropped are:

Anurag Tagore
Anurag Thakur has won five consecutive Lok Sabha elections from Hamirpur constituency in Himachal Pradesh. This time he defeated his nearest rival Satpal Raizada of Congress by 1 lakh 82 thousand 357 votes. He served as Minister of Sports, Youth Affairs and Information and Broadcasting in Modi’s last cabinet. This time he is out.

Smriti Irani
Smriti Irani was included in the cabinet of Modi’s last two governments. Last she served as the Union Ministry of Women and Child Development. This time he was defeated by 1 lakh 67 thousand 196 votes by Congress candidate Kishori Lal Sharma from Amethi constituency in Uttar Pradesh. This time he did not fit in Modi’s cabinet. However, there were rumors that he might be kept in the cabinet. Later may be won as member of Rajya Sabha.

Rajeev Chandrasekhar
Rajeev Chandrasekhar is one of those who did not get a place in Modi’s cabinet this year. In the last cabinet, he served as Minister of State for Electronics and Information Technology and Skill Development and Entrepreneurship. He lost to Shashi Tharoor of Congress in Thiruvananthapuram seat of Kerala by 16 thousand 77 votes.

The best silver
After assuming power for the second term in 2019, Narendra Modi reshuffled the cabinet in 2021. Parshottam Rupala was then given the charge of the Ministry of Fisheries, Animal Husbandry and Dairy. This time he is also left out. Rupla has been elected Lok Sabha MP from Rajkot in Gujarat. He defeated the rival candidate Paresh Dhanni of Congress by 4 lakh 84 thousand 260 votes. It is not clear why Rupala did not get a place in Modi’s cabinet this time despite winning by a large margin. However, it is heard that he made adverse comments about the Rajputs during the election campaign. He said, earlier Maharajas were subjects of British and foreign rulers. His comments are said to hurt the dignity of Rajputs. Many believe that this is the reason why he has no place in Modi’s cabinet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *