Modi took the oath of Prime Minister for the third time

Last Updated on June 10, 2024 9:34 am

NDA chief Narendra Modi (73) has been sworn in as India’s prime minister for the third time. No Prime Minister except Jawaharlal Nehru has achieved the feat of being sworn in three times in a row. 72 members of the Cabinet also took oath in the oath ceremony organized at Rashtrapati Bhavan on Sunday evening. Although Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge was present at the event, Trinamool Congress leader West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee did not attend. News from NDTV, Indian Express, Anandabazar newspaper.

President Draupadi Murmu administered the oath to Narendra Modi as the Prime Minister at 7:15 PM local time. Along with Modi, 72 members of his cabinet were also sworn in at the event. 30 of them are cabinet ministers. There are five ministers of state with independent responsibility. Along with BJP, a total of 11 allies have been given ministerial posts. Who among them will be given the responsibility of which ministry will be informed later. 43 ministers have served three or more times. According to a report, 39 of the 72 ministers served in the previous government.

After Narendra Modi, outgoing Defense Minister Rajnath Singh, outgoing Home Minister Amit Shah, outgoing Road Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari, BJP President JP Nadda, Madhya Pradesh’s Shivraj Singh Chouhan, outgoing Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, outgoing External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar, former Haryana Chief Minister Manoharlal Khattar took oath one after the other. , former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda’s son HD Kumaraswamy, outgoing Consumer Protection, Food and Supplies Minister Piyush Goyal, outgoing Education Minister Dharmendra Pradhan, NDA’s ally Hindustan Awam Morcha (HM) Jitanram Majhi, JDU’s Rajivranjan Singh alias Lallan, Chandrababu Naidu’s TDP leader K Rammohan Naidu and others.

The Prime Minister of Bangladesh Sheikh Hasina was present at the event surrounded by tight security. On Sunday, he paid a courtesy call on 96-year-old senior BJP leader Lal Krishna Advani at his residence. High Commissioner of Bangladesh in India. Mustafizur Rahman said, “The two leaders talked about their personal issues in the meeting.” Then in the evening, the Prime Minister attended the swearing-in ceremony as the third foreign leader at Rashtrapati Bhavan with his daughter Saima Wazed. During her stay in New Delhi, Sheikh Hasina will hold a one-to-one meeting with Narendra Modi after attending the swearing-in ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan. The Prime Minister is scheduled to leave New Delhi for Dhaka on Monday afternoon.

Apart from that, Sri Lankan President Ranil Wickremesinghe, Maldives President Mohammad Muijju and eight thousand invited guests were present. After the oath ceremony, the leaders attended a banquet hosted by President Draupadi Murmu at Rashtrapati Bhavan. Many Bollywood stars including Shahrukh Khan, Akshay Kumar, film director Rajkumar Hirani were present at this event at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Congress announced to be present at the swearing-in ceremony, but Trinamool, India’s third largest partner in the opposition alliance, was not present at the swearing-in ceremony. After a meeting at her Kalighat home to review the poll results on Saturday, Mamata said she had not received an invitation to attend the swearing-in ceremony. Even if he got it, he would not go. He said, “I cannot congratulate the undemocratic and unconstitutional government! Best wishes for the country.

The BJP did not get a single majority in the elections this time. So Padma Shibir has to depend to a large extent on NDA’s partner parties to form the government. However, the BJP has retained “important” ministries like Home, Defence, Finance, Education and Culture. Several other key ministries have been distributed among Sharik Dal Chandrababu Naidu’s TDP, Nitish Kumar’s JDU, Chirag Paswan’s LJP(R), Eknath Shinde’s Shiv Sena, HD Deve Gowda’s JDS and Jayant Chowdhury’s RLD.

Modi invited several NDA MPs for tea at his Lok Kalyan Marg home on Sunday. Almost all the MPs invited by Modi have been inducted into the cabinet.
According to BJP sources, like the outgoing cabinet, Home Minister Amit Shah, Defense Minister Rajnath Singh, Roads and Highways Minister Nitin Gadkari will remain in their positions in the new cabinet. Rajya Sabha members Nirmala Sitharaman and S Jaishankar are both in charge of the finance and external affairs ministries respectively, NDTV reported.

BJP president JP Nadda was present at the tea ceremony. He is being brought back to the cabinet from organizational responsibility. Three former Chief Ministers in the running for the ministerial post are Madhya Pradesh’s Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Haryana’s Manoharlal Khattar and Karnataka’s Basbaraj Bommai. All three were present at Saturday’s tea party. K Rammohan Naidu and Chandrasekhar Pemmasani are the full ministers from Chandrababu’s party. Lallon Singh is the minister from Nitish’s party.

“Indian Express” quoted BJP sources as saying that Chandrababu’s party is getting one full minister and one state minister post. Pratap Rao Jadhav is the Minister of State for Shiv Sena (Shinde). Former Prime Minister Deve Gowda’s son HD Kumaraswamy is the minister from JDS. Apart from this, Jitanram Majhi of Hindustan Awam Morcha (HAM), Ramdas Athwale of Republic Party of India (RPI-A), Azsur Chandrasekhar Chowdhury is said to be the full minister among the small partner parties of NDA.

Bangladesh interested in importing hydropower from Bhutan: Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has expressed interest in importing hydropower from Bhutan through India. Bhutanese Prime Minister Dasho Tshering Tobge expressed this interest when he paid a courtesy call on the Prime Minister at his residence in New Delhi on Sunday. He told the Bhutanese Prime Minister, “This requires a tripartite agreement and we have already discussed the issue with India.” Foreign Minister Dr. Hasan Mahmud said these things in a press briefing after the meeting. He said, Bhutan is eagerly waiting to export hydropower to Bangladesh. The Prime Minister of Bhutan thanked the Prime Minister of Bangladesh for building a burn unit in his country and providing essential medicines for one year. He praised the development of Bangladesh under the dynamic leadership of Sheikh Hasina.

Sheikh Hasina said Bhutan occupies a special place in the heart of Bangladesh. Because Bhutan was the first to recognize Bangladesh as an independent country after the 1971 liberation war. He said, we are ready to provide all kinds of assistance to Bhutan.

He stressed on the proper use of the space allotted to India in the Special Economic Zone at Kurigram and hoped that Bhutan would develop industries there. Prime Minister asked for Bhutanese investment in Bangladesh.
The Prime Minister of Bhutan praised Saima Wazed, the only daughter of the Prime Minister of Bangladesh and WHO Regional Director for Southeast Asia, and mentioned her recent visit to Bhutan.

Foreign Minister Dr. Hasan Mahmud, MP, Advisor to the Prime Minister on Private Industry and Investment Salman Fazlur Rahman, State Minister for Commerce Ahsanul Islam Titu, Principal Secretary to the Prime Minister Mohammad Tofajzel Hossain Mia, Foreign Secretary (Senior Secretary) Masood Bin Momen, Secretary to the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) Mohammad Salahuddin and Press Secretary Naemul Islam Khan and others were present on behalf of Bangladesh.

Infrastructure and Transport Minister Chandra Bahadur Gurung, Home Minister Shering, Ambassador of Bhutan to India Major General V. Namgyel, Cabinet Secretary Kesang Deki and Foreign Secretary Pema Choden, represented Bhutan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *