In the first phase of the Lok Sabha elections in India, the voter turnout was 60 percent

Last Updated on April 20, 2024 5:54 am

Lok Sabha elections have started in India. The first phase of this election, held in seven phases in 102 constituencies in 1 state and union territory, began on Friday. About 60 percent of the votes have been cast till 5 pm on this day.

According to the report of the Indian media NDTV, 59.7 percent of all the constituencies have voted till 5 pm local time. Of this, Tamil Nadu polled 63.2 percent, Rajasthan 50.3 percent, Uttar Pradesh 57.5 percent and Madhya Pradesh 63.3 percent. For general elections as well as state elections, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh polled 67.5 and 64.7 percent respectively.

The first phase of polling was held on Friday in 39 seats in Tamil Nadu, 12 in Rajasthan, 8 in Uttar Pradesh, 6 in Madhya Pradesh, 5 in Uttarakhand, 2 in Arunachal Pradesh, 2 in Meghalaya, 1 in Andaman and Nicobar Islands, 1 in Mizoram, 1 in Nagaland, 1 in Puducherry, 1 in Sikkim and 1 in Lakshadweep. Assam and Maharashtra have five each, Bihar has four, West Bengal has three, Manipur has two, Tripura, Jammu and Kashmir and Chhattisgarh have one each in the first phase.

Meanwhile, along with Lok Sabha elections in Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh, new assembly elections will also be held. Among these, Arunachal Pradesh (60 seats) and Sikkim (32) are on the first position.

There were reports of violence and disorder in several places during the first phase of the election. Meanwhile, Trinamool Congress and BJP workers clashed in West Bengal’s Cooch Behar. There have been allegations of indulging in violence, intimidation of voters and attacks on poll agents against activists and supporters of both parties. However, the local police claimed that no violence took place.

Meanwhile, reports of gunshots and explosions were reported at Bishnupur polling station in Manipur. Moreover, a polling station was vandalized in Imphal district. Two elderly persons were also reported killed in a polling station in Tamil Nadu’s Salem district.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *