Modi’s Cabinet: Those whose foreheads can burn

Last Updated on June 9, 2024 2:36 pm

At least 15 who held the ministry in the last term have lost in the Lok Sabha elections this time. Union Women and Child Development Minister Smriti Irani is also in this list. They are expected to be excluded from the new cabinet.

In 2019, Smriti Irani came to power by defeating then Congress President Rahul Gandhi in Amethi, Uttar Pradesh. This time also he stood for the vote from that seat. His opponent was Kishorelal Sharma of Congress. Smriti lost to Kishorilal by 1 lakh 67 thousand votes.

Nishith is authentic

There were two candidates in Modi’s cabinet from West Bengal. One of them is outgoing Member of Parliament from Cooch Behar Nisith Pramanik. He served as Union Minister of State for Home Affairs. But this time Nisith lost from Trinamool’s Jagdish Chandra Basunia by about 40 thousand votes.

Subhash Sarkar

Apart from Nisith, outgoing MP Subhash Sarkar from West Bengal was in the Union Cabinet. He has handled the responsibility of Union Minister of State for Education. In this year’s Lok Sabha elections, he lost to Trinamool candidate Arup Chakraborty by more than 32,000 votes.

Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti

Modi cabinet member Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti held the charge of Union Minister of State for Consumer Protection, Food and Public Distribution. In this election, he lost to the candidate of Samajwadi Party by more than 33 thousand votes from Fatepur constituency of Uttar Pradesh.

Kailas Chowdhury

Union Minister of State for Agriculture Kailas Chowdhury contested from Barmer in Rajasthan this time. This time he was defeated by a huge margin. Kailas is in the third place in that center with a gap of about four and a half lakh votes with the winning candidate.

Ajay Mishra Teni

Union Minister of State for Home Ajay Mishra Teni contested from Lakhimpur Kheri in Uttar Pradesh. However, he lost to Samajwadi Party candidate Utkarsh Verma by a margin of more than 34,000 votes.
Also read: Mamata won’t take Modi’s oath, hints that government won’t last even 15 days

Arjun Munda

Former Chief Minister of Jharkhand and Union Minister for Scheduled Tribes Arjun Munda contested from Jharkhand polls. He lost to Congress’s Kalicharan Munda by around one and a half lakh votes.

Rajeev Chandrasekhar

Union Minister of State for IT Rajeev Chandrashekhar contested from Thiruananthapuram in Kerala. His rival was Congress candidate Shashi Tharoor. Rajiv was defeated by more than 16 thousand votes.

Kaushal Kishor

Union Minister of State for Housing Kaushal Kishore lost from Uttar Pradesh’s Mohanlalganj. Samajwadi Party candidate RK Chowdhury defeated him by more than 70 thousand votes.

Sanjeev Balian

Union Minister of State for Agriculture Sanjeev Balian contested on a BJP ticket from Muzaffarnagar. He lost to Samajwadi Party’s Harendra Singh Malik by more than 24 thousand votes.

Raosaheb Danbe

Raosaheb Danbe has taken charge of the Union Minister of State for Railways. He contested from Jalna seat in Maharashtra. He lost to Congress’s Kalyan Baijinathrao Kal.

And who is the lion?

Union Power Minister RK Singh was also defeated. He lost to CPI (ML) candidate Sudama Prasad from Ara seat in Bihar by about 60 thousand votes.

V Muralidharan

Union Minister of State for External Affairs V Muralitharan contested from Ottingal in Kerala. Congress candidate won that seat.

El Murugan

Union Minister of State for Fisheries L Murugan also lost. He lost from the Nilgiri constituency in Tamil Nadu by almost two and a half lakh votes. DMK candidate won that seat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *