Four European countries may recognize Palestine on May 21

Last Updated on May 10, 2024 2:49 am

On the 21st of this month, it is said that at least 4 countries belonging to the European Union (EU) may recognize Palestine as a state.

This information was reported by Reuters on Thursday (May 9), the national broadcaster of Ireland, RTE News.

RTE News reports that joint state recognition of Palestine is under discussion between Ireland and Spain and Slovenia and Malta.

According to the report, these European countries are waiting for the vote to be held on Palestine in the United Nations General Assembly on May 10. Palestine may be recognized as eligible to become a full member of the United Nations at a session of the General Assembly on that day.

In a joint statement issued on March 22, Spain, Ireland, Malta and Slovenia said they had reached a consensus on taking the first step towards recognizing Palestine as a state.

Spain and Ireland have a long history of fighting over Palestinian rights. Israel’s seven-month war in the besieged Gaza Strip has left thousands dead and millions of Palestinians displaced.

In this incident, when the anti-Israel movement and public opinion around the world is intensifying, four European countries have decided to recognize Palestine. At the same time, the call for a lasting solution for peace in the region is also getting stronger around the world.

Since 1988, at least 139 of the 193 member states of the United Nations have recognized Palestine as a state.

Israel says the four countries’ plans include a ‘bounty for terrorism’; That would reduce the chances of a negotiated solution to the Gaza conflict.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *